Llewellyn Four: Russian Masters

CANCELLED Llewellyn Four: Russian Masters

Wednesday 4th Nov - 7:30pm
Thursday 5th Nov - 7:30pm
Llewellyn Hall
Canberra Symphony Orchestra

Nicholas Milton leads the orchestra in two of classical music’s most personal statements, in the Canberra Symphony Orchestra’s final Llewellyn concert for the year.  

The CSO’s 2020 Artist in Focus Umberto Clerici joins the orchestra for Dmitri Shostakovich’s spiky First Cello Concerto, written for his close friend, the legendary cellist Mstislav Rostropovich. One of the most challenging works in the cello repertoire, it is shot through with Shostakovich’s coded musical signature, DSCH.

Just as personal is Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony, in which the opening brass fanfare — representing fate — is the key to the whole work. “None of my earlier works for orchestra have given me so much trouble, but on none have I lavished such love and devotion,” Tchaikovsky wrote. “In my heart of hearts I feel sure it is the best thing I have done so far.”

The concert opens with the relentless energy of Australian composer Matthew Hindson.

Umberto Clerici joins the CSO in 2020 as Artist in Focus

Nicholas Milton AM – Conductor

Umberto Clerici – Cello

Canberra Symphony Orchestra


SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No. 1, op. 107

TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4 in F minor, op. 36

Pre-concert talk at 6.45pm