Skip to main content


Submitted by Paulius Gutauskas on Thu, 05/30/2024 - 14:06
Wednesday 7th Aug - 7:30 PM
Thursday 8th Aug - 7:30 PM
Llewellyn Hall
Presented by
Canberra Symphony Orchestra

This program defies the depths of Canberra winter with a celebration of the human spirit: its sacred fragility and transcendent imagination.

We open with a world premiere from Miriama Young, an Australian and Aotearoa / New Zealand composer and sound artist. This new work follows Young’s Kinds of Blue, commissioned and premiered by the CSO in 2023, under the baton of Jessica Cottis. 

Daughters of Elysium takes its title and inspiration from Friedrich Schiller’s ‘An die Freude’ (Ode to Joy). The paradisal Elysian Fields held great significance in the ancient Greek imagination, a blissful conception of the afterlife that persisted through the centuries. 

Beethoven drew on Schiller’s poetry, especially for the fourth movement of his Symphony No. 9, one of the greatest works in the classical repertoire. This final movement defies symphonic categories, the massed voices inspiring hope and calling us to live in peace and harmony. 

This performance marks the 200th anniversary of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, one of the most profound triumphs of musical and human expression.


Jessica Cottis Conductor
CSO Chorus
Canberra Symphony Orchestra

Emma Pearson, Soprano

James Egglestone, Tenor

Adrian Tamburini, Bass


Miriama Young Daughters of Elysium | World premiere
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125

Acknowledgment of Country

The Australian National University acknowledges, celebrates and pays our respects to the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people of the Canberra region and to all First Nations Australians on whose traditional lands we meet and work, and whose cultures are among the oldest continuing cultures in human history.