Skip to main content

RMC Band Masterworks for Winds

Submitted by Paulius Gutauskas on Mon, 05/06/2024 - 17:05
RMC Band Masterworks for Winds
Saturday 15th Jun - 7:00 PM
Llewellyn Hall
Presented by
RMC Band/ANU School of Music

The Band of the Royal Military College returns to Llewellyn Hall for its Masterworks for Winds concert series.
Under the baton of Officer Commanding and Music Director, Major Matthew O’Keeffe, the band will perform seven diverse yet brilliant masterworks for wind ensemble penned by leading international composers Gustav Holst, Leonard Bernstein, James David and Paul Hart, and Australian composers Peter Sculthorpe, Alan Laurens and Sally Greenaway.
Leonard Bernstein’s rarely performed Prelude, Fugue and Riffs is a unique work for big band and solo clarinet, which will feature the talents of LCPL Scott Collinson on clarinet and MUSN Anthony Tenikoff on piano. The title points to the union of classical music and jazz with the baroque prelude and fugue forms followed by a series of jazzy riffs. This masterwork is a study of musical virtuosity from all sections of the band.

The concert will also feature Worlds Within Worlds from local Canberra composer Sally Greenaway. Commissioned by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra as a chamber orchestral work, the piece explores various different ‘worlds’ from bustling cityscapes, to secluded courtyards, to ‘the corporate world at its most monotonous’ and then flying away as a bird and seeing the city from the sky. 

“It’s a pleasure to deliver this concert series in such a magnificent auditorium”, says Major O’Keeffe “Performing at Llewellyn Hall has always been such a highlight for the Band of the Royal Military College”.

The Band of the Royal Military College has been a cornerstone of live concert performances in Canberra for over 60 years and whilst its role remains predominantly ceremonial, supporting various departments of the Defence Force and Government, the Band relishes all opportunities to showcase their talent and share the joy of music to members of the public throughout the year.

Supporting the Band for this series are students from the Australian National University School of Music.
“To help nurture the development of the next generation of leading musicians, we provide the opportunity to perform and demonstrate practical application of their study. The students are delighted to have the chance to learn and play with a professional ensemble which supports their development as musicians and we take our role in that very seriously” Major O’Keeffe says.

As always, the Band promises to provide a sensory experience like no other and we encourage you to join us for what will be a wonderful event for all.


The Band of the Royal Military College
Students of the Australian National University School of Music


Gustav Holst First Suite in Eb (1909)
James David Urban Light (2021)
Peter Sculthorpe Small Town (1963)
Leonard Bernstein Prelude, Fugue and Riffs (1949)


Alan Laurens Canonfire (2022)
Sally Greenaway Worlds Within Worlds (2015)
Paul Hart Circus Ring (1995)


To ensure accessibility for all, entry to the event is via gold coin donation with all proceeds supporting Canberra Legacy. Ensure you book your seats today. A gold coin donation will be collected by Legacy upon entry to the venue.
Registration via this page is essential to ensure your seating.

Acknowledgment of Country

The Australian National University acknowledges, celebrates and pays our respects to the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people of the Canberra region and to all First Nations Australians on whose traditional lands we meet and work, and whose cultures are among the oldest continuing cultures in human history.