Skip to main content

Silence & Rapture

Submitted by Paulius Gutauskas on Fri, 10/20/2023 - 10:37
Silence & Rapture
Saturday 17th Aug - 8:00 PM
Llewellyn Hall
Presented by
Australian Chamber Orchestra

A mesmerising collaboration with Sydney Dance Company featuring countertenor Iestyn Davies and the music of Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt. Composing three centuries apart, Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt’s timeless music speaks to the human soul. From rockstars and writers to artists and filmmakers, these composers are revered by music lovers across genres and generations. The last time the ACO performed their music together, it was a sell-out.

Richard Tognetti directs this mesmerising collaboration between the ACO and Sydney Dance Company that brings together music, movement and evocative lighting to create something truly extraordinary.

Expressing the luminous longing at the heart of this music is choreography from Rafael Bonachela, Artistic Director Sydney Dance Company, while Gramophone Award-winning countertenor Iestyn Davies, whose performances have been described as “a pleasure that verges on the sublime” (The Guardian) makes his Australian debut, bringing these stirring melodies to life.

Bach and Pärt’s music is rooted in human experience while reaching towards the divine. This program traces a profound journey through three Gardens at the heart of the Biblical narrative they both hold so close: from the hope and temptation of the Garden of Eden to the tragedy and passion of the Garden of Gethsemane, ascending into the Garden of Heaven and, at last, the meditation of silence. Featuring Part’s Fratres and selections from Bach’s most loved cantatas, orchestral and solo music, this promises to be a season highlight and a deeply affirming experience.



JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Kanon zu acht Stimmen, BWV1072
ARVO PÄRT Collage über B-A-C-H: I. Toccata Garden of Eden

BACH Cantata “Wiederstehe doch des Sunde”, BWV54: Aria “Wer Sünde tut, der ist vom Teufel” BACH Sonata for Violin and Keyboard in A major: I. Dolce BACH Cantata “Ich bin ein guter Hirt”, BWV85: Aria “Jesus ist ein guter Hirt” PÄRT Fratres Garden of Gethsemane

BACH Sonata for Solo Violin No.2 in A minor: III. Andante
BACH St Matthew Passion: “Erbarme Dich”
PÄRT Für Lennart in memoriam
PÄRT My Heart’s in the Highlands

Garden of Heaven

BACH Cantata “Der Herr denket an uns”, BWV196: Sinfonia
PÄRT Vater unser
BACH Cello Suite No.3 in C major: I. Prelude
BACH Magnificat: “Et exultavit”

Into Silence

PÄRT Pari intervallo
BACH The Art of Fugue: Fuga a 3 Soggetti (unfinished)
PAUL HINDEMITH Trauermusik: IV. Sehr langsam

Richard Tognetti • Director & Violin
Iestyn Davies • Countertenor
Rafael Bonachela • Choreographer & Artistic Director, Sydney Dance Company
Stefanie Farrands • Viola
Timo-Veikko Valve • Cello
Chad Kelly • Organ & Harpsichord

Artists from Sydney Dance Company

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Acknowledgment of Country

The Australian National University acknowledges, celebrates and pays our respects to the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people of the Canberra region and to all First Nations Australians on whose traditional lands we meet and work, and whose cultures are among the oldest continuing cultures in human history.